

Moanoghar News Bulletin

(October - December 2016)

(Founders: Ven. Shaddamaditya Jnanasree Mahathero, Ven. Bimal Tissya Mahathero, Ven. Prajnananda Mahathero, Ven. Sraddha Lanker Mahathero)

Editorial Board

- o Kirti Nishan Chakma
- o Ashok Kumar Chakma
- o Biplab Chakma
- o Borendra Lal Tripura
- o Chanchu Chakma
- o Anumodarshi Dewan
- o Ushamoy Khisha
- Nanda Kishore Chakma



Annual General Meeting (AGM) of Moanoghar

PSC and JSC Results of Moanoghar Residential School

In total 79 students from Moanoghar took part in the PSC examinations in 2016. There were 51 boys and 28 girls. 46 participants are residential students while the remaining 53 students attended the school from the neighbouring communities. All of them passed and 3 obtained GPA 5.

In the Junior School Certificate (JSC) examinations, 278 students took part from Moanoghar Residential School in 2016. Out of this, 153 are boys and 116 are girls and 116 are residential students and the remaining 162 are non-residential students. All the candidates, except 4 students, passed in the examination which makes a success rate of about 98.5%.

This year Moanoghar has initiated a special coaching programme from March so that all the students pass PSC and JSC examinations.

Annual General Meeting of Moanoghar Held and a New Executive Committee Elected

The Annual General Meeting (AGM) of Moanoghar was held on 17 November 2017. Besides the general members of Moanoghar, Mr. Md. Nasir Uddin and Mr. Mohammad Jalal Uddin from the Directorate of Social Welfare, Ragamati sadar office attended the AGM as observers.

At the behest of Mr. Sukumar Dewan, President of Moanoghar Executive Committee, Executive Director of Moanoghar Mr. Ashok Kumar Chakma presented the (1) Annual Activity Report, (2) Annual Financial Report (3) Audit Report and (4) Budget for 2017. He also proposed appointing the auditor for the year 2017. The AGM, approved all the above reports, including the auditor, after detailed discussions.

In the next session, the AGM elected a new Executive Committee for a term of 3 years; from 2017-2019 upon expiration of the term of the outgoing committee. It selected Mr. Sattrong Chakma, Rangamati district reporter of Daily Samakal and Mr. Abirata Chakma, Deputy Project Director, GoB-ADB project CHTRDP II as Election Returning Officers for conducting the election of the new Executive Committee. Both are general members of Moanoghar.

In discussion with the general members present in the AGM they worked on a panel for the new Executive Committee which was unanimously approved in voice vote by all the general members. The list of the new Executive Committee is given in the next page.

Groundbreaking ceremony for extension of the girls' hostel (Bishakha Bhavan) held

The groundbreaking ceremony for the extension building in the girls' hostel complex was held on last 18 October 2016. A simple ceremony with the Buddhist prayer was held on the occasion where all the residential girls students participated.

The hostel building is constructed with the support mobilized by Mr. Emil Wolter and his colleagues in the investment firm Comgest (www.comgest.com) and will very much improve the present congested living condition of the girls of Moanoghar in their hostel.



Video conference with the Prime Minister



Groundbreaking ceremony for the new Building of Bishakha Bhavan (Girls' hostel)

New Executive Committee of Moanoghar

1. Mr.	Sumukar Dewan	President
2. Ver	. Shraddhalankar Mahathero	Vice President
3. Ms.	Sagarika Roaza	Vice President
4. Ms.	Nirupa Dewan	Vice President
5. Pra	senjit Chakma	Vice President
6. Kir	ti Nishan Chakma	General Secretary
7. Ver	ı. Buddhadatta Bhikkhu	Joint Secretary
8. Mr.	Sonadha Chakma	Joint Secretary
9. San	nar Bijoy Chakma	Treasurer
10. Advocate Ushamoy Khisha		Member
11. Ms.	Banchita Chakma	Member
12. Mr.	Kalamoni Chakma	Member
13. Ms. Jhuma Dewan		Member
14. Ms. Sinora Chakma		Member
15. Mr. Bhagya Moni Chakma		Member

Miscellaneous news

- On last October 2016, the honourable Prime Minister Shekh Hasina held a nationwide video conference with the
 citizens. Five video conference centres with large projection screens were set up in Rangamati, one of which was
 at Moanoghar Residential School. Besides Moanoghar students, students from the nearby Vedvedi High School
 also attended the conference.
- On last 15 November 2016, the foundation stone for the boys hostel Shanti Bhavan (House of Peace) was laid down by the Deputy Commissioner, Rangamati Hill District Mr. Mohammad Manzarool Mannan. The hostel is constructed with permanent structure with the funding support of Buddhist Global Relief, USA.
- Moanoghar deeply mourn the death of Mr. Biraj Mohan Chakma, Mr. Kara Ratan Karbari and Rajmata Rani Arati Roy. All three have had life-long association with Moanoghar and in the case of Mr. Biraj Mohan Chakma, he was cremated inside Moanoghar campus as per his last wishes. He is the father of Moanoghar founder Ven. Sharaddhalankar Mahathero. Mr. Kara Ratan Karbari was the village head of Rangapani village where Moanoghar is located and is the father of Sonadhan Chakma, a former student and is currently serving as Joint Secretary in the Executive Committee. Rajmata Arati Roy has had an illustrious life and died at the age of 81 years on the last 25 April 2016. He is the mother of the current Chakma Circle Chief Raja Devasish Roy.
- Moanoghar will admit new children in early January 2017. At the time of writing this news bulletin, the admission process has been completed and in total 230 new children have been taken at Moanoghar.