

Moanoghar News Bulletin

(July - September 2016)

(Founders: Ven. Shaddamaditya Jnanasree Mahathero, Ven. Bimal Tissya Mahathero, Ven. Prajnananda Mahathero, Ven. Sraddha Lanker Mahathero)

Editorial Board

- o Kirti Nishan Chakma
- o Ashok Kumar Chakma
- o Biplab Chakma
- o Borendra Lal Tripura
- o Chanchu Chakma
- o Anumodarshi Dewan
- o Ushamoy Khisha
- Nanda Kishore Chakma



Congregation of the Parbatya Bhikkhu Sangha

Workshop on Moanoghar Child Protection Policy Held

A 3 days workshop was held on 28, 30 August and 4 September among all the staffs and children over the Moanoghar Child Protection Policy and Moanoghar Ashramik Acharan Bidhi (Duties and Responsibilities of the Moanoghar children and residents).

The two policies are the key pillars of Moanoghar's work with and for the children. They were prepared through a meticulous process and in consultations with the children to take their opinions.

The children were explained of the policies, about their rights, and duties as well. The event was also attended by all the staffs including the teachers.

Separately, on 6 September another workshop on library management was also held.

Annual Congregation of Parbatya Bhikkhu Sangha (CHT Buddhist Monks' Congregation) Held at Moanoghar

The annual congregation of the Parbatya Bhikkhu Sangha was held at Moanoghar on 3 and 4 July 2016. Founded in 1957 by late Aggadhammasevaka Ven. Agravansa Mahathero, the congregation is the organizational platform to nurture and promote Buddhism in the CHT and protect the Buddhist cannons and traditions among the Religious Order and as well as the Buddhist leity.

More than 300 Buddhist monks from across the CHT region attended the congregation. The two days events were comprised of Dhamma talks by the venerable Buddhist monks, discussion sessions over the issues about how to further promote and establish Buddhism in the CHT region and spread the message of peace and compassion of the Lord Buddha among the community.

The congregation is held periodically and this was the 56^{th} event since the founding of the organizations.

On the first day, as part of the Dhamma Talks, the venerable monks also invited a number of lay persons to give their views on the Dhamma in the CHT. The invitees included; Barrister Raja Devasish Roy, Chakma Circle Chief; Mr. Bijoy Ketan Chakma, President of MN Larma Foundation; Mr. Mani Swapan Dewan, former Deputy Minister of Ministry of CHT Affairs; and Mr. Kirti Nishan Chakma, General Secretary of Moanoghar.

REUNION of the 1993 SSC Batch Students Held

The students who passed SSC in 1993 from Moanoghar Residential School held a reunion on 10-11 September 2016. More than 30 students with their families attended the two-day event.

The students paid homage to the teachers, hostel caretakers and the seniors who have supported them for education at Moanoghar. They also enjoyed a common meal with all the children and held a cultural performance. Very importantly, they also committed their support for the Moanoghar Higher Education Loan Programme (HELP).



Honourable Rangamati Mayor at Moanoghar



Purbasha Chakma







REUNION of the 1993 SSC Batch Students

The Honourable Mayor of Rangamati Municipality Akbar Hossain Chowdhury Visits Moanoghar

The Honourable Mayor of Rangamati municipality Mr. Akbar Hossain Chowdhury visited Moanoghar on last 4 August 2016. He inaugurated the recently installed water supply system and the deep tube well at the Suhrid Bhavan. He was accompanied by Mr. Kalayan Chakma and Rabi Mohan Chakma, councilors Rangamati municipality respectively for Kalindipur and Rangapani.

A small ceremony was organized on the occasion of his visit and among others, Mr. Ashok Kumar Chakma, Executive Director, Moanoghar and Ven. Shraddhalankar Mahathero, Vice President, Moanoghar Executive Committee spoke on the occasion. In his speech, the honourable Mayor expressed his whole-hearted support to Moanoghar in the future.



Banashree Chakma

Dennis Wright Memorial Scholarship Announced

This year the Dennis Wright Memorial Scholarship was announced on 18 August 2016. The scholarship was awared to the following 3 girl students; (1) Purbasha Chakma, Class IX for Academic Excellence; (2) Tum Prong Mro, Class X for Academic Improvement, and (3) Banashree Chakma, Class VIII for Academic Inspiration

The honourable Deputy Commissioner, Rangamati Hill District, Mr. Shamsul Arefin handed over the scholarships to the recipients. The event was also attended by Mr. Kamal Hossain, Upazilla nirbahi Officer (UNO) of Rangamati upazilla. During the ceremony, Mr. Jhimit Jhimit Chakma, Principal of Moanoghar Residential School also spoke. The ceremony was presided over by Ven. Shraddhalankar Mahathero, Vice President of Moanoghar Executive Committee.